The artist’s survival kit

“…You need to realize something else: you can lead a perfectly good and satisfactory life even if you’re not a writer [artist]. When i figured out that I could be perfectly happy and not be a writer, I became a better writer. The unhappiest people in the world may be the ones who think their happiness depends on artistic success of some kind.” ~Wendell Berry

I feel like I am a complex melting pot of contradiction most days. Ying and Yang. I am triumphant. I am winded. I am invincible and powerful. I am lost. I am in love. I am fragile. I am awed. I am confused. I am all knowing. I am unsure. I want to suck up every bit of this experience piece by piece. I want to hide. I am so happy I am going to explode. My self-confidence shatters temporarily.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment